Ok, before I start I want to say that i'm not really a "popular" DF player, and I am not (permanently) quitting. Maybe one month and i'll be back :).
Anyway in this kind of forum series I will write the stories of myself, and also some of the friends I have (and had) on DF. Let's start:

So, one day, about 3 years ago, I was browsing on a Minecraft server list and saw an interesting banner:
Diamondfire! Make your own minigames!

This got me very intrigued and joined the server, obviously. The community was very helpful and welcoming, and helped me create a new plot (I didn't know how to, I was a noob ok?). Now, I know there was a tutorial but I have no idea HOW but I skipped it (SHRUG). Then, I was worried that I skipped it and couldn't be able to restart it, but I saw an announcement in chat:
Have problem with your code? Do /support request and someone will come to help you!

I requested support, and someone (maybe MaxBuster or Sam, they were jrhelper anyway) came to help me. I just told them (after they asked me what's my problem) "Well, uh, how do I code here?" and then they said "Did you finish the tutorial?"

I felt pretty stupid and told them that I accidentally skipped it, but they were very polite and taught me some interesting stuff. I still remember my first code. It was a code that if you left clicked it would launch fireballs and that kind of stuff, I was amazed of this and I started brainstorming so many ideas!

I played around a little more, but decided to also check out other games for inspiration. The game that probably had the biggest influence on me was MaxBuster's Escapists. I played that game for hours with my brother, and we enjoyed it. I even made a stupid forum post about losing my escapes. I was cringy back then.